Columbus Cottonmouths

Columbus Cottonmouths win SPHL title

The Columbus Cottonmouths won the Southern Professional Hockey League championship Saturday with a 3-1 victory over Pensacola.

The win gave the Cottonmouths a 2-0 sweep in the series. Columbus swept all three of its playoff series, finishing the postseason 6-0.

Greg Beller scored what turned out to the game-winner at the 14:56 mark of the second period for a 2-1 lead.John Sullivan added an emptynetter at the 19:32 mark of the final period.

Jordan Braid had given Columbus a 1-0 lead at the 9:38 mark of the first period.

Pensacola tied it on Ryan’s Salvis' goal at 14:50 of the opening period.

This was Columbus' second SPHL title. The Snakes also won in 2005, the first year of the SPHL's existence.